Welcome to the CodeSmith Community!

Re: No associations generated

Template Frameworks

A description has not yet been added to this group.

No associations generated

Answered (Verified) This question is answered

Hi,

I'm new to Codesmith/Nhibernate although I've been debugging through the NhibernateHelper source and templates to get some idea of what's going on. I'm hoping someone will point me in the right direction now.

I've generated C# code (entities, hbm files etc.) against my (Postgres 9) DB and the unit tests run OK against the simplest tables which don't have FKs to other entities. However, I notice that for entities which have FK columns, I get no associations generated in the hbm.xml files nor in the C# business objects. 

My schema is quite large but as a simple example, the following tables exist, a Model, which can have many ModelCells, which in turn can own several CellVertex records, hence ModelCell carries a "ModelID" as FK to Model.ID and CellVertex carries a "ModelCellID" as the FK to ModelCell.ID :

CREATE TABLE "Model"
(
  "ID" smallint NOT NULL DEFAULT nextval('seq_model'::regclass), -- The unique ID of the model.
  "DomainID" smallint NOT NULL DEFAULT nextval('seq_domain'::regclass), 
  "Name" character varying(64) NOT NULL, 
  "ModelVersion" smallint NOT NULL,    .... (extra columns removed here)
  CONSTRAINT "pkModel" PRIMARY KEY ("ID"),
  CONSTRAINT "ModelIsOfADomain" FOREIGN KEY ("DomainID")
      REFERENCES "Domain" ("ID") MATCH SIMPLE
      ON UPDATE CASCADE ON DELETE NO ACTION
)
WITH (
  OIDS=FALSE
);

CREATE TABLE "ModelCell"
(
  "ID" bigint NOT NULL DEFAULT nextval('seq_model_cell'::regclass), -- The unique ID for the cell.
  "ModelID" smallint NOT NULL DEFAULT nextval('seq_model'::regclass), -- The ID of the model to which the cell belongs.
  "CellID" character varying(32) NOT NULL, .
  CONSTRAINT "pkCell" PRIMARY KEY ("ID"),
  CONSTRAINT "ModelHasModelCells" FOREIGN KEY ("ModelID")
      REFERENCES "Model" ("ID") MATCH SIMPLE
)